Skip to main content Skip to search results Skip to Facets & Filters

Council of New York (1664-1783)



The Council of New York was the governing body of the province of New York (1664-1783), which included all of the present U.S. states of New York, New Jersey, Delaware, and Vermont, along with inland portions of Connecticut, Massachusetts and Maine, as well as eastern Pennsylvania.

Found in 1 Collection or Record:

Extracts of Minutes of Council of New York Relating to the Eastern Boundaries of the Government North of the Western Bounds of Connecticut

Identifier: Mss 753316
Mss 753316
Date(s): 1753-05-16

Extracts of minutes of New York Council regarding the boundary dispute between the colonies of New York and New Hampshire over the territory that eventually became Vermont. The notes illuminate the conduct of negotiations between New York's Governor Clinton and New Hampshire's Governor Wentworth from April 3, 1750 to October 18, 1751.

Back to top