Dartmouth University. Board of Trustees

Dartmouth University. Board of Trustees



Dartmouth University operated in Hanover, New Hampshire, on the campus of Dartmouth College. The University was established by the New Hampshire Legislature in an act of June 27, 1816. The College Trustees had dismissed President John Wheelock, and his allies in Concord sought to reinstate him through legislation. The act ostensibly modified the existing Charter rather than establishing a new institution: it attempted to change the name to Dartmouth University, to increase the number of Trustees from twelve to twenty-one, and to create a board of twenty-five Overseers including, ex officio, the Governor and Council, the President of the Senate, the Speaker of the House, and the Governor and Lieutenant-Governor of Vermont.

Found in 41 Collections and/or Records:

Trustees vote

Mss 817151
Identifier: Mss 817151
Date(s): 1817-02-01

In English.