Skip to main content Skip to search results Skip to Facets & Filters

Clark School



Clark Preparatory School (also known as the Clark School) was a boys-only independent boarding school located in Hanover, New Hampshire, USA. It was founded in 1919 by Dr. Clifford Pease Clark, and its headmaster was Dr. Frank Millett Morgan, both of whom were former members of the faculty of nearby Dartmouth College. The school's primary purpose was "to prepare a boy adequately and thoroughly for College or Business, and to inculcate in him those basic principles and high ideals which tend toward the development of a manly character."

The Clark School prepared boys especially for Dartmouth College, though students matriculated at many other colleges and universities. Prominent alumni included Dr. Morgan's son, Professor Millett G. Morgan (1915–2002), who was founder of the Radiophysics Laboratory at the Thayer School of Engineering and a leading researcher in ionospheric physics, and the prominent hiking writer Daniel Doan.

The Clark School ceased independent operations in June 1953 when it was merged into Cardigan Mountain School in nearby Canaan, New Hampshire.

Found in 1 Collection or Record:

Clark School records May Be Restricted

Identifier: DH-19
Date(s): 1924 to 1953
Scope and Contents

The collection contains correspondence, receipts for goods for the operation of the Occom Club, a ledger of student fees, the seal of the school, as well as a film on the Clark School by the Bureau of Private Schools, certificates and the diploma for Millett Morgan. Restricted student records are also included.

Back to top