Skip to main content Skip to search results Skip to Facets & Filters

Sigma Phi Epsilon Fraternity. New Hampshire Alpha (Dartmouth College chapter)



igma Phi Epsilon was founded on April 22, 1908 as the local fraternity Omicron Pi Sigma. In 1909, the local fraternity became New Hampshire Alpha chapter of Sigma Phi Epsilon. By the late 1960s, the house had become disenchanted with the national organization and felt that the Dartmouth membership would be better served as a local fraternity. The brothers voted to dissociate from the national organization on January 18, 1967.

A vote of the alumni of the New Hampshire Alpha chapter on February 1, 1967, supported the decision. The new local fraternity adopted the name Sigma Theta Epsilon (which was also used by an unrelated national fraternity). The Sigma Phi Epsilon national continued to communicate with the local Sigma Theta Epsilon fraternity at Dartmouth, and by 1981 was willing to offer significant financial support for building renovations in exchange for reaffiliation. Convinced that the national organization had reformed in its commitment to the individual chapters, the local fraternity voted to rejoin Sigma Phi Epsilon on February 18, 1981.

Prominent alumni of the New Hampshire Alpha chapter include Theodor S. Geisel, class of 1925, better known as "Dr. Seuss" and former Chairman of Dartmouth's Board of Trustees and CEO of Freddie Mac, Charles E. Haldeman.

Found in 1 Collection or Record:

Sigma Phi Epsilon Fraternity, New Hampshire Alpha (Dartmouth College chapter) records

Identifier: DO-80
Date(s): 1909 to 2008
Scope and Contents

The collection contains scrapbooks, photographs, DVD's, banquet invitations and newsletters, sampling the student life in the Sigma Phi Epsilon fraternity at Dartmouth College.

Back to top