Skip to main content Skip to search results

O'Sullivan, Vincent, 1872-1940



  • Existence: 1872 - 1940

Vincent O'Sullivan was born in New York City on November 28, 1868. The family moved to London and O'Sullivan became destitute when the family lost all their money gambling on futures at the New York Coffee Exchange. He is the author of many books with macabre and morbid themes including "A Book of Bargains," in 1896, which contained the pact-with the devil stories "The Bargain of Rupert Orange", "The Business of Madame Jahn," and "My Enemy and Myself", which feature reanimated corpses. "When I Was Dead" (1905), "Verschoyle's House" (1915) and "The Burned House" (1916) are ghost stories, while "Will" is a tale of psychic vampirism. O'Sullivan died on July 18, 1940.

Found in 1 Collection or Record:

Vincent O'Sullivan collection

Identifier: MS-798
Overview Vincent O'Sullivan (1868-1940), writer. Contains correspondence and research related to O'Sullivan's work as an author. A typescript copy of introduction to "Opinions" and a proof copy of "Selected Letters" are also included.