Skip to main content

Dartmouth College, Computing Services records

Identifier: DA-181


The collection contains the records of Dartmouth College Computing Services, including general subject files and those of Vice President James Poage, Director Thomas Kurtz, Director John Stewart McGeachies, Assistant Director Robert Roe Costello, Associate Director Robert Hargraves, Director of Technical Services William M.P. "Punch" Taylor, and Director William Y. Arms. In addition, the collection contains publications, material on FETCH licences, meeting minutes, correspondence, photographs, slides, and conference material and VHS tapes. Of note is the material related to the creation of the Dartmouth Time Sharing System, the first succesful large-scale time sharing operating system developed at Dartmouth College between 1963 and 1964 and the material related to the BASIC computer language, necessary to run the system.


  • 1954 - 2000


Conditions Governing Access


Conditions Governing Use

Permission from Dartmouth College required for publication or reproduction.


186 linear ft. (124 boxes)

Part of the Rauner Special Collections Library Repository

6065 Webster Hall
Hanover NH 03755 USA